BedandBreakfasts of Italy
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.0
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.5
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  3.8
 Food / Dining  2.8
 Total  3.4

"My stay at International Student house, Florence, Italy."

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Sridharan R. of Leiden, Netherlands
Reviewed:   July 31, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The best part I like about this student house that it is very close to the train station, making it an ideal place to stay. The facilities are reasonable. The caretaker and his wife are very good/friendly. It was a good experience talking to people from various parts of the world; They readily offered their guidelines regarding the best things to see in the city.
In short, it was a good trip for me and I might to visit again next year.

"it was really nice."

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Anna H. of Bloomfield Hills, MI, United States
Reviewed:   July 29, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2006     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was very nice hostel. Everything was so clean, and so confortable.
It was like real somebody's house not for a strangers.
service was good too.
It was little hard to find in the beginning tho.

"Good, Hygenic, Safe"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Bhushan J. of Mumbai, India
Reviewed:   July 27, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2006     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I find the place comfortable, moderately cheaper , clean and safe.
I recommend if u r student u will like it..

"International Student House Florence - BEWARE!!!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Liz N. of ACT, Australia
Reviewed:   July 18, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I located ISF through this website and was quoted a specific price. Given that there were several other hostels nearby it was the price that decided I would stay here. After I submitted my application I was contacted by ISF staff and told that one of their employees had made a mistake in writing the price and asked for an additional amount. Given that it seemed to be a relatively small amount (something like E2.50 per night, and I definitely wanted accommodation near Florence Train station I wrote back and said so long as it was an honest mistake I was willing to continue with my booking. The staff assured me it was.
When I arrived at the hostel no one answered the door. I gave them the benefit of the doubt and came back later. When I did there were two strange men standing opposite the door. After I rang the doorbell they approached me and asked whether I was staying at the hostel. I said I was and they told me that because of "emergency building works" the hostel had had to relocate and asked me to come with them. They had no form of identification that legitimised them as employees of the hostel. I asked why I hadn't received notification of the relocation via email. They couldn't provide a response. There was no notice on the door telling potential residents of the hostel that it had relocated. They asked me again to follow them to the new hostel. As a single female I didn't feel safe following two strange men so I asked for the address so I could make my way there with friends who were staying at another address. They refused to give it to me, but rang the hostel owner. Again he did not give me a plausible explanation as to why the hostel had moved, why I hadn't received notification, and I had to argue with him to eventually be given the address. The hostel owner said that if I chose not to continue with my booking I could come to the hostel and get my deposit refunded to me in cash.
Given the succession of very dodgy experiences I had with this hostel I decided not to stay here, and went up Via Faenza and stayed at Ostello Archi Rossi, which was very good and I would highly recommend it (fun atmosphere, courteous staff, free internet, clean and spacious rooms, and mine had an ensuite which was in good condition).
The following morning I went to the address provided for the replacement hostel for ISF to get my deposit refunded. It was a good 20-25 minute walk from the Station (as opposed to the less than 5 minute walk to its original location) whereas I had been advised by the guys by the door that it was nearby. I was very grateful that I was not carrying my pack! When I got there no one answered the door. I tried again a bit later during the day and again no one answered, so my deposit was not refunded.
Outcome: DO NOT STAY AT International Student House Florence.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




BedandBreakfastsofItaly Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us